Show Menu

North Carolina ARRL History

This is a new project that will of course be ongoing. We expect and hope that this page will eventually be a jumping-off point that points us to many other pages. Member contributions are needed.

North Carolina Section Managers and Section Communications Managers

Many thanks to Herb Lacey, W3HL, Carl Starnes, W4EAT, John Covington, W4CC, and Dave Langley, W4YDY for assembling this list. If you have any additions or corrections, please send them to NCARRL webmaster.

Marv Hoffman WA4NC, Boone, NC, April 2020-present
Karl Bowman W4CHX, Raleigh, February 2014 - April 2020
Bill Morine N2COP, Wilmington, April 2010 - February 2014
Tim Slay N4IB, Mooresville, April 2006-March 2010
Dr. John Covington (SK) W4CC, Belmont/Waxhaw, April 2000-March 2006
Reed Whitten AB4W, Cary, April 1988-March 2000
Rae Everhart (SK) K4SWN, Lexington, April 1984-March 1988
Ian Black (SK) WD4CNR, Murphy, November 1981-March 1984
Ed Stephenson (SK) AB4S, Cary, January 1981 - October 1981
Bill Parris K4GHR/AA4R, Charlotte, January 1977 - January 1981
Chuck Brydges (SK) W4WXZ, Winston Salem, November 1971
Calvin M. Dempsey (SK) WA4UQC, Tarboro, 1969
Barney Dodd (SK) K4QFW/W4YZH/W4BNU, Salisbury, 1963
N. J. Boruch (SK) W4CH, Wilmington, 1962
B. Riley Fowler (SK) W4RRH Morganton, April 1956 - 1962
Allen L. Guin, Jr. (SK) W4ZQB, Charlotte, February 1956 - March 1956
Charles "Chuck" H. Brydges (SK) W4WXZ, Charlotte, December 1954 - January 1956
John "Slim" C. Geaslen (SK) W4DLX, Charlotte, August 1951 - November 1954
Herman P. Jolitz (SK) W4DCQ, Clinton, October 1950 - July 1951
William J. "Buck" Wortman (SK) W4CYB, Charlotte, January 1950 - September 1950

Tar Heel Emergency Net

The Tar Heel Emergency Net is one of the longest running nightly nets, meeting on the air since 1947! Enjoy this 1954 copy of the net rules provided from the library of Weldon, W4AJT.

Scan of cover of  1954 THEN rulebook1954 THEN Rules (pdf) -- Courtesy of W4AJT


NCARRL Web is now in "Version 4" of its design. The NCARRL staff takes pride in the fact that through these iterations, we have kept the structure navigable and not knowingly broken any links during the changes.

Former webmasters for NCARRL Web include John Covington, W4CC, Errol Casey, KD4IHW, and Steve Perry, KB4FXE.

Screen Shot of ARRL Web V1
Screen Shot of ARRL Web V2
Screen Shot of ARRL Web V3